3 Simple Steps To Photograph Adult Goldfinches Feeding Juveniles Without Leaving Your Home.

For anyone with restricted mobility the early nights drawing in, freezing temperatures, and gale force winds can get you down. Yet, when photography is in your blood you’ll try anything to get a photo that can bring a little bit of sunshine to your day.

The “half glass full” perspective of enduring winter is that spring is just around the corner. Spring brings you wholesale opportunities of capturing a breathtaking photo. I have always had the ambition of capturing the moment of an adult bird feeding it’s young.

I reached that dream this year as you can see by the photo above. So, in this week’s post, I want to share with you 3 steps to help you make that dream a reality.

CREATE THE RIGHT ENVIRONMENT

Last week in the post “3 Ways To Capture Breathtaking Butterfly Pictures Despite Being On A Mobility Scooter” I encouraged you to scout areas where your subject might reside. Today, you only need to venture to your back garden or balcony.

My little secret to you is this: Put some branches near to the feeding station you have!

Do you have a feeding station? Of course! If you don’t, then you will not be able to attract your subject close enough to be able to have the time to take the photo.

The branches placed near the feeder is like a personal invitation to the birds to stay a little while and give their best pose.

n2-00110

SET UP YOUR “HIDE

I’m not encouraging you to go out and spend £60-£100 on a basic bird watching hide.

Remember, I’ve set up this site to show that those of us that have restricted mobility can still capture great photos. If you’re like me, you’d love to be able to sit for hours in a less than comfortable bird watching hide but it’s physically impossible.

My ‘hide’ is my bedroom. On bad days that’s where I spend most of my time. So, how can you set up a ‘hide’ in your bedroom or any other room for that matter?

  1. Have a bird table set up that’s visible from the window. The table must have feeders connected and as already revealed in my secret tip: Have branches set up near the feeder.
  2. Set up your camera permanently on a tripod for the whole time set aside for the photography session.
  3. Due to the nervousness of birds,  I have a large piece of stiff board placed over one side of the window with a small slot, cut out for my camera.

FOCUS ON ONE SUBJECT AT A TIME

To give yourself a chance of catching the desired photo I’ve found over many years that you need to focus only on one of the two subjects. In this case, it’s the juvenile that you want to fix your lens on. Keep your camera focused on the juvenile and hope and wait for the adult to come and feed it.

goldfinch-feed0056Keep in mind, you may not have quick success in capturing the awesome sight of a parent feeding it’s young. Be prepared to wait a day or two to get another chance. The worst case scenario is that you’ll have to wait until the following spring.

That was my experience last year. However, this year I had 3 opportunities to capture juveniles being fed. Even though it would’ve been much better had I caught them both in a different pose; I was still ecstatic to get around 40 shots in all.

goldfinch-feed0001This is a once a year event and you have a limited time to record it. But isn’t that what makes photography such a wonderful hobby.

So, go ahead and use the inconvenience of winter to prepare for spring and get ready for some great photos.

Have a great week capturing your moments through the lens of your camera!

And please feel free to share with me your own captured moments


If you enjoy reading my post then please press the Follow Peter G Nicholson button.

Do you know anyone else that might benefit from these posts? If so, then feel free to share via Twitter, Instagram or Facebook.

 

 

6 Comments

  1. Had an excellent bedroom in my former home. It was perfect for shooting the feeder. Years of recovery and effort gets me out and about but I still have those confined to the room days and I miss those former windows.

    You have some excellent shots through the windows. I used to get more feedback from other photographers who didn’t know my situation along the lines of ‘get outside’, ‘don’t shoot through the window’ and ‘go to where the birds are’…yeah guys, real helpful that.
    Your shots are amazing, much better than my early ones, our windows were double paned and I think that is what negatively impacted my shots.

    Great work! There will come a day when I will be back in your world, confined to small rooms. I am much stronger but Winter still beats me down in horrible ways despite it’s beauty.

    Like

Have Your Say!

