How To Perfect Still-Life Photography On A Budget?

Firstly, my apologies in the lateness of this post. It’s been my goal to write 2 posts each week. However, time and a few other things have restricted me from doing so. Yet, with a new month fast approaching there’s nothing like the present to share a few photos.

One area of photography that I would like to get more involved in is product photography.

Nothing can replace the buzz of photographing nature and that will always remain first place. Yet, if I am confined to the home due to my own health restrictions or the elements outside then product photography is a good second.

Do any of you that kindly read my blog posts focus on product photography?

Are any of you able to earn through this area of creativity?

I’d love to hear from any of you if you answer YES to the above. Please leave me a comment below, or send me an email. Get In Touch!

Recently, I wrote about how to bring the stunning beauty of the outside, inside. How did you get on?

Have any of you tried any similar shots?

I’d love to see some of them. Not only will it give me much happiness from seeing that one of my posts was able to help you, but also inspire me with other ideas for myself.

So, once again I invite you to share. Maybe, I can try and include your results in an upcoming post.

Let’s get back to the product photography.

The real purpose behind the post today, other than just getting something out there for the first time in three weeks, is to share some tips on how to be creative on a budget.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you look closely at the vase close up, then you’ll be able to see me in the reflection.

Lighting

In my previous post How To Bring The Colour Of Your Garden Inside, I wrote about the importance of a appropriate lighting.

Your lighting doesn’t need to be expensive. I shared with you an article on how you can create your own light box. If you didn’t have a chance to read it, then you can read it here.

The lighting is incredibly important for any photography, but particularly if you are capturing a still-life moment.

Props

0069resize
Whisky Glass Set Against A Black Tile

In the few pictures that I have share today, they are all taken against the backdrop of a black kitchen or bathroom tile. The dark backdrop allows any light captured on the object to be magnified. It also allows for the added reflective effect.

If this was photographed against any other colour, you would not be able to get such a good reflection.

0026.1resized

Here, the black backdrop emphasises the colours within these small pieces of glass. Any other colour behind, that effect would be less intense.

What props do you use for product photography or still-life?

Let me know either by leaving a comment or a sending me an email?

Thanks again for all our lovely comments each time I write a post. It may only be a few words, but it means a lot to me.

As always, if you have a family member, friend or associate that you think might benefit from this post then please feel free to share.

Have a Great Week

Happy Snapping.

 

 

 

9 Comments

    1. Thank you Alanna. You are very welcome. Having looked at your shop i also learned a few things how to present an object at its best. I intend to open a shop in Etsy to try to sell my pics and am looking into supplying canvases, I have around 40,000 images give or take. I would be glad to hear any tips you might have for when i go ahead, thank you for your comments.

      Like

  1. These lessons are inspiring, will allow me to explore. The reflections of this image is incredibly beautiful.
    Thank you so much, Peter!

    Like

Have Your Say!

